#RISE

Like most people, I usually start my year off with resolutions or goals that I want to achieve before the year ends. Also like most people, I rarely meet these expectations that I make and end up disappointed in myself. Not a great way to end or start a year that’s for sure…

My number one goal for the past few years was to lose weight. It always starts off positive – I download an app that will help me count calories, I buy a new notebook to start writing down my daily exercise routine,…but then comes the part where I actually need to get up and exercise. I know I am able to get off my butt and do activity, I mean, I’ve walked non-stop for 2 hours straight trying to get home without using a bus pass! I realized that what was stopping me wasn’t physical but an emotional restraint.

Now you’re probably thinking, ‘Hey! Now you know the cause, you can get on that elliptical!’ Well that’s what I thought too! To be fully honest, I’ve known this ‘truth’ for about year now, and still haven’t started this grand journey into a healthier lifestyle. This ‘truth’ has led me into more darker places in my mind, where I’ve come to see that many of my destructive habits were rooted in how my father or people that I’ve looked up to had said about me. For the past few years I’ve been blaming these people and using what they’ve said and done as an excuse and pit to wallow in. What I thought would set me free had not jolted me up but instead had dragged me down. I soon realized that these truths weren’t meant only to be known, but to be overcome.

I recently read the article Ring in the New Year with One Word (http://shelovesmagazine.com/2013/ring-new-year-one-word/) and these sentences sunk in deep:

“Then I looked again. I studied the [resolutions] list for a while. And I realized all of these goals are rooted in feeling like I’m not enough—not writing enough, not slim enough, not spiritual enough, not fit enough, not a good enough friend or mom and not a giving enough member of the community.”

The whole idea of the article is that we have rooted our resolutions and goals on beliefs that we are not good enough and we have to do better. So instead of making a list of what we need to do better, we should pick a word that we want our year to be rooted in and let that word flourish throughout the year. I was deeply moved by the author’s story about how the ONE word transformed her year and made her feel encouraged! I knew that this was truly a NEW YEAR for me and that this year would be a year of life and resurrection of my spirit. I prayed about my word for 2014 and God said – RISE.

 “Arise, Jerusalem! Let your light shine for all to see. For the glory of the LORD rises to shine on you.” (Isaiah 60:1)

So this year I choose to RISE, rise above the circumstances, rise up to challenges and rise towards the plans God has for me! And I know by saying YES to what God has put in front of me I will learn to love others and myself as He does. I know it won’t be easy, but it’s SO encouraging to know that I won’t be overcoming these circumstances with my strength, but Jesus’ strength in me (John 16:33)! I finally feel chains broken off me and I’m ready to tackle what in ahead of me knowing that Christ has already prepared the way (Deuteronomy 31:8).

I will be blogging everything that God is doing in my life this year in Australia at Hillsong College! It’s bound to be an amazing and stretching season, and I’m ready to RISE! My anthem this year:

 

Much love!

Dals ❤

Leave a Reply

